SEMINAR ON AGING, COGNITION AND NEURODEGENERATIVE DISORDERS Syllabus

330.802.01 | AY 2013-2014 - 1st Term | 2 Credit(s)
Th 3:30:00 PM
  • Contact Information
    Faculty
    George Rebok
    Michelle Carlson
    Peter Zandi
  • Course Learning Objectives

    Upon successfully completing this course, students will be able to:

    • classify the major domains of cognition and describe the age-related changes that occur in each cognitive domain
    • to classify the major neurodegenerative disorders related to age and describe the clinical presentation and pattern of cognitive change in each disorder
    • to identify gaps in discuss concerning age-related cognitive change and the primary neurodegenerative disorders and apply concepts to the development and evaluation of future interventions for age-related cognitive decline and neurodegenerative disorde
  • Course Description

    Addresses age-related cognitive and neuropsychiatric disorders that are of particular importance with the rapid expansion of the aging population. Focuses on the major domains of cognition and comparison of the age-related changes that occur in each cognitive domain. Includes emphasis on contrasting the major neurodegenerative disorders related to age and describing the clinical presentation and pattern of cognitive change in each condition. Participants address current strategies for maximizing cognitive function with age and treatment strategies for the primary neurodegenerative disorders. Participants examine and identify gaps in knowledge and research approaches to fill these gaps. Explores concepts of cognitive systems, animal and imaging models, and selective pathological change with age and disease.

    Additional Faculty Notes:


    Course lectures are held in Reed Hall West -1 Conference Room

  • Intended Audience
    Predoctoral and Postdoctoral students from A&S, SPH, and SOM.
  • Methods of Assessment
    Class participation 30%; term paper 70%
  • Course Schedule

    Please see the course Session for a full list of dates and items for this course.

  • Academic Ethics Code

    Students enrolled in the Bloomberg School of Public Health of The Johns Hopkins University assume an obligation to conduct themselves in a manner appropriate to the University's mission as an institution of higher education. A student is obligated to refrain from acts which he or she knows, or under the circumstances has reason to know, impair the academic integrity of the University. Violations of academic integrity include, but are not limited to: cheating; plagiarism; knowingly furnishing false information to any agent of the University for inclusion in the academic record; violation of the rights and welfare of animal or human subjects in research; and misconduct as a member of either School or University committees or recognized groups or organizations.

  • Course topics

     

     

    Session

    Date

    Lecturer

    Title

    Notes

     

    T

    E

    R

    M

     

    1

    1

    09/05/13

    Ola Selnes

    Historical aspects of cognition and aging research

     

    2

    09/12/13

    Michelle Carlson

    Executive function and its component parts

     

    3

    09/19/13

    Michael Yassa

    Memory and memory disorders

     

    4

    09/26/13

    Argye Hillis

    Language systems and language disorders

     

    5

    10/03/13

    Argye Hillis

    Disorders of spatial function

     

    6

    10/10/13

    Susan Courtney

    Working memory and disorders of working memory

     

    7

    10/17/13

    Amy Bastian

    Movement and movement disorders

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • Class Times

    Thursdays from 3:30 - 5:00 pm Reed Hall West 1 Conference Room

  • Contact Information(from old syllabus)

    Marilyn Albert, Ph.D.
    Email: malbert9@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-614-3040

    Arnold Bakker

    Email: abakker@jhu.edu

    410-502-6944

     

    Karen Bandeen-Roche, PhD
    Email: kbandeen@jhsph.edu
    Tel: 410-955-3067

    Amy Bastian, PhD

    Email: Bastain@KennedyKrieger.org

    Tel: 443-923-2718

     

    Jason Brandt, PhD
    Email: jbrandt1@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-955-2619

    Michelle Carlson, PhD
    Email: mcarlson@jhsph.edu
    Tel: 410-614-4887

    Susan Courtney, Ph.D.
    Email: courtney@jhu.edu
    Tel: 410-516-8894

    Michela Gallagher, Ph.D.
    Email: michela@jhu.edu
    Tel: 410-516-0167

    Laura Gitlin, PhD
    Email: lgitlin1@son.jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-955-7539

    Argye Hillis, M.D.
    Email: argye@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-614-2381

    Constantine Lyketsos, M.D.
    Email: kostas@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-550-0062

    Richard OBrien, MD, PhD
    Email: robrien@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-550-8703

    Chiadi Onyike, M.D.
    Email: conyike1@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-502-6509

    Olga Pletnikova, MD
    Email: opletni1@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-955-5463

    Peter Rapp, PhD
    Email: rappp@mail.nih.gov
    Tel: 410-558-8195

    George Rebok, PhD
    Email: grebok@jhsph.edu
    Tel: 410-955-8550

    Paul Rosenberg

    Email: prosenb9@jhmi.edu

    Tel:  410-550-9883

     

    Ola Selnes, Ph.D.
    Email: oselnes@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-955-1696

    Gwenn Smith, Ph.D.

    Email: gsmith95@jhmi.edu

    Tel: 410-550-0062

     

    Madhav Thambisetty, PhD
    Tel: 410-550-8703

    Bryan Traynor, M.D.
    Email: traynorb@mail.nih.gov
    Tel: 301-451-7606

    Juan Troncoso, M.D.
    Email: troncoso@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-502-5165

    Philip Wong, PhD
    Email: wong@jhmi.edu
    Tel: 410-502-5168

    Michael Yassa, PhD
    Email: yassa@jhu.edu
    Tel: 410-516-7089

    Peter Zandi, PhD, MPH
    Email: pzandi@jhsph.edu
    Tel: 410-614-2686

     

     

     

  • Course Objectives(from old syllabus)
    - Develop an understanding of the major domains of cognition including: memory, executive function, language, spatial skills, and attention - Become familiar with examples of disorders that commonly occur in each of these cognitive domains
  • Disability Support Services
    If you are a student with a documented disability who requires an academic accommodation, please contact the Office of Student Life Services at 410-955-3034 or via email at dss@jhsph.edu.